April 25, 2017 North Liberty Special Election

Mayor and City Council

Results after 8 PM Tuesday

Polls open 7 AM to 8 PM - All North Liberty voters vote at the Community Center for this election


6 PM: 681 (6.25%)
3 PM: 400 (3.7%)
11 AM: 212 (1.9%)
9 AM: 122 (1.1%)

Turnout totals do not include absentee ballots (125 accepted by absentee board Tuesday)

Find personalized voting, ballot and polling place information.
A project of the League
of Women VotersĀ®.
Vote411.org logo


Offices and candidates to appear on ballot

Sample Ballot (Names will rotate by precinct)

Mayor to fill vacancy:
Term expiring December 31, 2017

City Council to fill vacancy: Term expiring December 31, 2019

Terry L. Donahue
125 Vixen Ln
North Liberty 52317
appointed incumbent

Chris Hoffman
365 Fox Run
North Liberty 52317

Matthew Pollock
432 Watts Ct
North Liberty 52317

Jessica Beck
1298 Nicholas Ln
North Liberty 52317

Jennifer Goings
890 Chukar Cir
North Liberty 52317

Nicholas S. Gulick
245 Elm Ridge Dr
North Liberty 52317

Gerry Kuhl
1180 St Andrews Dr
North Liberty 52317

Sarah Madsen
1945 Timber Wolf Dr
North Liberty 52317

Mike Mbanza
1342 Whipple Ct
North Liberty 52317

Faraz Shah
1577 Sadler Dr
North Liberty 52317

Dates and deadlines:

  • March 31: Filing deadline, 5 PM. File at Auditor's Office. 25 signatures required for both mayor and city council.
  • Monday, April 10: First day for early voting at Auditor's Office. Voting available weekdays, 7:45-5:30.
  • Friday, April 14: Voter pre-registration deadline, 5 PM. Registration still available after this date using the election day registration procedure, which requires ID and proof of address.
  • Monday, April 17: Candidate Forum, 6-8 PM, North Liberty library. Chamber of Commerce, sponsors.
  • Friday, April 21: Deadline to request mailed absentee ballot, 5 PM.
  • Saturday, April 22: Satellite voting at North Liberty Library, 520 W. Cherry St., 11 AM-3 PM. 43 people voted at this site.
  • Monday, April 24: Last day for in person early voting at Auditor's Office, 7:45-5:30.
  • Tuesday, April 25: Election Day. Polls open 7 AM to 8 PM. All voters will vote at the vote center at the North Liberty Recreation Center, 520 W. Cherry St.


  • December 31, 2016: Mayor Amy Nielsen resigned in order to serve in the Iowa House of Representatives.
  • February 28, 2017: City Council Member Terry Donahue was appointed to replace Nielsen as mayor and resigned his council seat.
  • March 1, 2017: A petition from the public was filed to call for an election for mayor.
  • March 14, 2017: The city council scheduled the election for April 25.
  • March 16, 2017: The city council met again and decided to place the city council vacancy on the same ballot.

The election winners will take office immediately following the canvass of votes (to be held either May 1 or 2).

The office of mayor will be on the regular November 7 city election ballot for a full four year term.

The council member elected in the special election will serve through the 2019 city election.