BOS Banner

About The Supervisors

Click on the names below to learn more about your Johnson County Supervisors:
Mike Carberry Lisa Green-Douglass Kurt M. Friese Janelle Rettig Rod Sullivan

The Board of Supervisors is composed of five members, elected at large, with each serving a four year term. Any vacancy occurring in the Board in the interim between elections is filled by appointment by a committee of the County Auditor, the County Treasurer and the County Recorder. The Board is the legislative body of the county and is empowered to:

• Make appointments to non-elective county offices and to county boards and commissions.
• Fill vacancies in elective county offices occurring in the interim between elections except vacancies occurring in its own membership.
• Approve compensation for county employees other than elected officials and, subject to the limitations imposed by the Compensation Board, approve compensation for elected officials.
• Allow claims against the County and order payment of those claims.
• Enter into contracts in the name of the County for the purchase, sale, or lease of property, including real estate, and for the purchase of services.
• Require reports of county officers on subjects connected with the duties of their officers.
• Approve budget proposals of county offices and levy property taxes to raise revenues.
• Manage all county buildings and grounds.
• Supervise construction and maintenance of the secondary roads system.
• Establish building zones for unincorporated areas of the County.
• Make official canvass of votes cast in the County for elections.
• Approve applications for beer, liquor, and cigarette sales permits for establishments outside incorporated areas.
• Approve homestead tax credit applications and military service tax credit applications.

Green Divider
Other Information
Green Divider

Johnson County Organizational Chart Abobe Icon
Comprehensive List of Committees Supervisors Serve On Abobe Icon