Boards and Commissions

Application for Boards and Commissions
Click here for Current Board and Committee Openings

The following is a list of the Boards and Commissions of Johnson County, Iowa. Please click on the name to view more information about that Board or Commission. (Please note that you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view all of the following links. For a free reader see the bottom of this page.)

Alliance for Healthy Living
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: (Public Health) Health Educator Kathryn Edel kedel@co.johnson.ia.us 319 356-6040

Board of Health
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Public Health Director Doug Beardsley dbeardsley@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6040

Board of Supervisors
Agendas and Minutes
Archived Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (Board of Supervisors Office) Executive Assistant Andy Johnson ajohnson@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6000

Building Code Board of Appeals
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: (Planning, Development & Sustainability) Lead Building Inspector Neil Bombei nbombei@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6083

Civil Service Commission
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
• Staff Contact: (Sheriff’s Office) Administrative Assistant Kay Langenberg klangenb@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6020

Commission of Veteran Affairs
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Veteran's Affairs Director Gary Boseneiler gbosenei@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6049

Compensation Board
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: Deputy Auditor Nancy Tomkovicz ntomkovi@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6004

Compensation Commission
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
• Staff Contact: Sheriff’s Lieutenant Raquel Wray rwray@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6020

Conservation Board
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Conservation Director Larry Gullett lgullett@co.johnson.ia.us 319-645-2315

County Assessor Board of Review
Webpage
• Staff Contact: County Assessor Tom Van Buer tvanbuer@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6078

Criminal Justice Coordinating Committee
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: (Board of Supervisors Office) Executive Assistant Andy Johnson ajohnson@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6000

Decategorization Board
Duties, Current Members, and Webpage Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes Abobe Icon
• Staff Contact: Social Services Coordinator Lynette Jacoby ljacoby@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6090

Emergency Management Agency Commission
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Emergency Management Coordinator Dave Wilson Dave.Wilson@jecc-ema.org 319-356-6700

Empowerment Board
Duties, Current Members, and Webpage
Agendas and Minutes Abobe Icon
• Staff Contact: (Empowerment/Early Childhood Iowa) Early Childhood Specialist Laurie Nash Empower@JCEmpowerment.com 319-339-6179

Food Policy Council
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (Planning, Development & Sustainability) Local Food & Planning Specialist Shanti Sellz ssellz@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6083

Health Improvement Planning
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: (Public Health) Community Health Manager Dave Koch dkoch@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6040

Historic Preservation Commission
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: (Board of Supervisors Office) Grants and Communications Specialist Mickey Miller mmiller@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6000

Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency Region 6
Agendas and Minutes Abobe Icon
Webpage  
• Staff Contact: Emergency Management Coordinator Dave Wilson Dave.Wilson@jecc-ema.org 319-356-6700

Iowa City Assessor Board of Review
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Iowa City Assessor Brad Comer bcomer@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6066

Johnson County Case Management Advisory Board
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
• Staff Contact: (County Case Management) Administrative Assistant Mickey Hansen mhansen@co.johnson.ia.us 319-339-6169

Johnson County - Iowa City Airport Zoning Board of Adjustment
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Webpage
• City of Iowa City Contact: Airport Operations Specialist Michael Tharp michael-tharp@iowa-city.org 319-356-5045

Johnson County - Iowa City Airport Zoning Commission
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Webpage
• City of Iowa City Contact: Airport Operations Specialist Michael Tharp michael-tharp@iowa-city.org 319-356-5045

Judicial Magistrate Appointing Commission
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
• State of Iowa Contact: Johnson County Clerk of Court Kim Montover Kim.Montover@iowacourts.gov 319-356-6060

Juvenile Justice and Youth Development Policy Board
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Social Services Coordinator Lynette Jacoby ljacoby@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6090

Land Use Plan Update Committee
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (Planning, Development & Sustainability) Clerk II Julia Dodds jdodds@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6083

Livable Community for Successful Aging Policy Board
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Social Services Coordinator Lynette Jacoby ljacoby@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6090

Medical Examiner
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Webpage
• Staff Contact: Medical Examiner Administrator Mike Hensch mhensch@co.johnson.ia.us 319-339-6197

Minimum Wage Advisory Committee
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Resolution Establishing Committee Abobe Icon
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (Board of Supervisors Office) Executive Assistant Andy Johnson ajohnson@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6000

Planning & Zoning Commission
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Public Hearing Notices
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (Planning, Development & Sustainability) Clerk II Julia Dodds jdodds@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6083

SEATS Paratransit Advisory Committee
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (SEATS) Trasnportation & Fleet Director Tom Brase tbrase@co.johnson.ia.us 319-339-6128

Zoning Board of Adjustment
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon
Agendas and Minutes
Webpage
• Staff Contact: (Planning, Development & Sustainability) Clerk II Julia Dodds jdodds@co.johnson.ia.us 319-356-6083


Archived Boards, Commissions, and Councils

The following is a list of the Boards, Commissions, Committees, and Councils that are expired and no longer convene meetings.

Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management Technical Advisory Committee
Duties Abobe Icon
Current Members Abobe Icon

Trails Advisory Committee
Agendas and Minutes

Green Divider

Get Acrobat Reader
Text Only Version
You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print these documents. If this software is not already installed on your computer, click the button to download a free copy of Acrobat Reader.