JOHNSON COUNTY CONSERVATION BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES October 15, 2019

BOARD MEMBERS: Alice Atkinson, President Gene Zdrazil, Secretary Bill Waldie Connie Mutel STAFF MEMBERS: Larry Gullett, Director Dory Kjosa, Office Manager Brad Freidhof, Cons. Prog. Mgr. Wade Schultz, Operations Supt.

OTHER STAFF:

Susie Nehring, Asst. County Attorney

President Alice Atkinson called the meeting to order at 5:30 pm.

Minutes:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve the Johnson County Conservation Board Regular Meeting minutes of September 16, 2019. Second by Gene Zdrazil with a unanimous vote.

Directors Report:

Director Larry Gullett reviewed staff activities and financial reports.

Discussion by Public:

Wyatt McCain, Riverside and Maggie Ellliott, Iowa City introduced themselves.

Business:

1. Discussion – Review results of the accessibility study in conservation areas by the WT Group – John McGovern.

Discussion only.

2. Discussion/Action – RFP for planning services at Pechman Creek Delta.

Motion was made by Gene Zdrazil to approve the RFP for planning services at Pechman Creek Delta. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

3. Discussion/Action – RFP for planning services at the Schwab/Burford Acquisition.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve the RFP for planning services at the Schwab/Burford Acquisition. Second by Gene Zdrazil with a unanimous vote.

4. Board Member subcommittee assignments for planning projects.

Discussion only.

5. Discussion/Action – Grant agreement for design, engineering and permitting services with the IDOT for the Clear Creek Trail extension from Half Moon Ave. to Kent Park.

Item was deleted from the agenda as we did not receive the agreement from the IDOT.

6. Discussion/Action - FY21 budget proposal

Discussion only.

7. Discussion/Action – Retreat with the Board of Supervisors, Conservation Board and Staff.

Discussion only.

- 8. Discussion/Action Addressing climate change locally and globally.
 - 1. Request for SERF funding for solar at Kent Park and Pechman Creek Delta.

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to approve requesting SERF funding for solar at Kent Park and Pechman Creek Delta. Second by Bill Waldie with a unanimous vote.

A Board consensus was made to urge in communications and educational programs to bring up climate change whenever appropriate.

The Board took a break from 8:37 pm – 8:41 pm.

9. Motion was made by Gene Zdrazil at 8:42 pm to go into closed session regarding potential purchase of particular real estate. Closed session per 21.5(1)(j) Code of lowa to discuss purchase of particular real estate where premature disclosure could be reasonably expected to increase the price the governmental body would have to pay for that property. Second by Bill Waldie with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Mutel, aye; Zdrazil, aye; Atkinson, aye.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to come back into open session at 9:20 pm. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to encourage the lowa Natural Heritage Foundation to work with the Director and County Attorney on the purchase of property 1 and

to include a deed restriction as discussed in closed session. Second by Gene Zdrazil with a unanimous vote.

Bills:

Motion was made by Gene Zdrazil to approve department 24 bills in the amount of \$41,663.04, department 32 in the amount of \$252.00, department 40 in the amount of \$557.26, department 82 in the amount of \$45,284.99, department 83 in the amount of \$181,842.74, and department 85 in the amount of \$103,420.68. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

<u>Announcements/Correspondence:</u>

Next Regular Meeting of the Conservation Board – 5:30 PM, November 19, 2019, Johnson County Administration Building, Betty Sass Room.

Adjournment:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to adjourn at 9:26 pm. Second by Bill Waldie with a unanimous vote.

The above minutes were read and approved by the Johnson County Conservation Board the 19th day of November, 2019.

Signature on file
Alice Atkinson, President

Signature on file
Gene Zdrazil, Secretary