JOHNSON COUNTY CONSERVATION BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES May 19, 2020

STAFF MEMBERS:

BOARD MEMBERS: Gene Zdrazil, President Bill Waldie, Vice President (via Zoom) Larry Wilson, Secretary (via Zoom) Carolyn Buckingham (via Zoom) Connie Mutel (via Zoom)

Larry Gullett, Director Emily Walker, Office Assistant Dave Wehde, Natural Resources Mgr. Brad Freidhof, Cons. Prgm. Mgr. Wade Schultz, Operations Sup't (via Zoom)

OTHER STAFF: Susie Nehring, County Attorney (via Zoom)

President Gene Zdrazil called the meeting to order at 5:33 pm.

Minutes:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve the Johnson County Conservation Board Regular Meeting minutes of April 21, 2020. Second by Larry Wilson, with a unanimous vote.

<u>Bills</u>:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve department 24 bills in the amount of \$19,478.19, department 40 in the amount of \$732.65, department 82 in the amount of \$76,940.69, department 83 in the amount of \$76,724.26, and department 85 in the amount of \$6,699.40. Second by Larry Wilson with a unanimous vote.

Directors Report:

Director Larry Gullett reviewed staff activities and financial reports.

Discussion by Public:

No public present.

<u>Business:</u>

1. Discussion/Action – Agreement with Stanley Consultants for planning, design, engineering and permitting services for the Clear Creek Trail extension project from Half Moon Ave. to Kent Park.

Motion was made by Larry Wilson to enter into agreement with Stanley Consultants for planning, design, engineering and permitting services for the Clear Creek Trail

extension project from Half Moon Ave. to Kent Park contingent upon acceptance by the Iowa DOT and to authorize the Director to make changes that are necessary as required by the IDOT. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

2. Discussion/Action – Bids for construction of Phase 2 of the North Shop project.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to accept the low bid by APEX Construction for construction of Phase 2 of the North Shop project. Second by Connie Mutel with a unanimous vote.

3. Discussion/Action – Authorization to close out the FY20 budget.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie authorize the Director to close out the FY20 budget as discussed. Second by Larry Wilson with a unanimous vote.

4. Discussion – Update on planning projects for Pechman Creek Delta, the Schwab/Burford Acquisition and the Clear Creek Trail extension.

Discussion only.

5. Discussion – Transmission mitigation response to the COVID 19 emergency declarations.

Discussion only.

6. Discussion – Process for evaluation of the Executive Director at the June Board Meeting.

Discussion only.

7. Motion was made by Connie Mutel at 7:46 pm to go into closed session regarding potential purchase of particular real estate. Closed session per 21.5(1)(j) Code of Iowa to discuss purchase of particular real estate where premature disclosure could be reasonably expected to increase the price the governmental body would have to pay for that property. Second by Larry Wilson with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Wilson, aye; Mutel, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye.

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to come back into open session at 9:12 pm. Second by Larry Wilson with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Wilson, aye; Mutel, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye

8. Discussion/Action – Relative to items discussed in closed session.

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to authorize the Director to proceed with the properties as discussed in closed session in the manner discussed in closed session.

Second by Bill Waldie with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Wilson, aye; Mutel, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye.

Announcements/Correspondence:

Next Regular Meeting of the Conservation Board – June 16th, 2020, Conservation Education Center at Kent Park.

<u>Adjournment</u>:

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to adjourn at 9:16 pm. Second by Carolyn Buckingham with a unanimous vote.

The above minutes were read and approved by the Johnson County Conservation Board the 16th day of June, 2020.

> <u>Signature on File</u> Gene Zdrazil, President

Signature on File Larry Wilson, Secretary