JOHNSON COUNTY CONSERVATION BOARD REGULAR MEETING MINUTES April 20, 2021

BOARD MEMBERS: Gene Zdrazil, President Bill Waldie, Vice President Bonnie Winslow-Garvin (via Zoom) Connie Mutel (via Zoom) Carolyn Buckingham, Secretary (via Zoom)

STAFF MEMBERS: Larry Gullett, Director Dory Kjosa, Office Manager Wade Schultz, Operations Supt. Brad Freidhof, Cons. Ed. Supt. (via Zoom)

OTHER: Susie Nehring, Asst. County Attorney (via Zoom) Lisa Green-Douglas (via Zoom)

President Gene Zdrazil called the meeting to order at 5:32 pm.

<u>Minutes:</u>

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to approve the Johnson County Conservation Board Regular Meeting minutes of March 16, 2021 and the Special Meeting minutes of March 31, 2021. Second by Bill Waldie with a unanimous vote.

<u>Bills</u>:

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve department 24 bills in the amount of \$24,620.61, department 32 in the amount of \$6,957.93, department 40 in the amount of \$571.22, department 82 in the amount of \$13,161.18, department 83 in the amount of \$3,946.53, and department 85 in the amount of \$5,712.07. Second by Connie Mutel with a roll call vote as follows: Waldie, aye; Mutel, aye; Garvin, aye; Buckingham, aye; Zdrazil, aye.

Directors Report:

Director Larry Gullett reviewed staff activities and financial reports.

Discussion by Public:

Ed Williams introduced himself and presented old pictures from his family's property that is being donated.

<u>Business:</u>

1. Discussion/Action – Proposal from IA Research for Phase 2 of the marketing plan.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to accept the plan for the social media project/Phase 2 of the marketing plan for \$3,100.00. Second by Carolyn Buckingham with a unanimous vote.

2. Discussion/Action – Proposals to replace damaged roofs on four structures at Cangleska Wakan damaged by the derecho storm.

Motion was made by Connie Mutel to accept the proposals to replace damaged roofs on four structures at Cangleska Wakan damaged by the derecho storm. Second by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin with a unanimous vote.

3. Discussion/Action – Agreement with Stanley Consultants to develop an RFB with plans and specifications and form of contract for re-shingling the Celebration Barn damaged by the derecho.

Agreement was not ready for discussion.

4. Discussion/Action – Approval of Real Property Donation Agreement with Herbet Farms, Inc. for donation of approximately 26 acres.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to authorize the Director to enter into the charitable donation agreement with Herbet Farms for the property to be known as Phebe's Timber. Second by Carolyn Buckingham with a unanimous vote.

5. Discussion/Action – Proposal for design and engineering services with MODUS for solar arrays at the Conservation Education Center and Hill's Access.

Motion was made by Bill Waldie to approve the proposal for design and engineering services and to authorize the Director to enter into a contract with MODUS consistant with the proposal. Second by Bonnie Winslow-Garvin with a unanimous vote.

6. Discussion/Action – Final discussion and comments related to the concept plan for Cangleska Wakan.

Discussion only.

7. Discussion – Possible open house for the lake restoration, Hoover Trail and Malinda Reif Reilly Fen and Prairie.

There was general consensus to wait until spring 2022 for these open houses.

8. Discussion/Action – Closed session regarding potential purchase of particular real estate. Possible closed session per 21.5(1)(j) Code of Iowa to discuss purchase of particular real estate where premature disclosure could be reasonably expected to increase the price the governmental body would have to pay for that property.

No Closed Session held.

9. Discussion/Action – Relative to items discussed in closed session – if needed.

Not needed.

Announcements/Correspondence:

Next Regular Meeting of the Conservation Board – Tuesday, May 18, 2021 – Education Center at Kent Park.

<u>Adjournment</u>:

The meeting was adjourned at 7:43 pm.

The above minutes were read and approved by the Johnson County Conservation Board the 18th day of May, 2021.

> Signature on File Gene Zdrazil, President

Signature on File Carolyn Buckingham, Secretary